Past performances...

Past performances: Reviews

This page is just about the shows that have been booked through the Theatre Club and what families and especially our younger audience have thought about the productions!  We may run shows again subject to demand so do get in touch if there is anything you would like to see!

If you’ve got something to add just Contact Us!

Wicked – 7th September 2017

Wicked graphicThis multi award-winning classic musical tells the incredible untold story of an unlikely but profound friendship between two girls who first meet as sorcery students at Shiz University: the blonde and very popular Glinda and a misunderstood green girl named Elphaba.  Recommended age 7+.

We have over 70 Friends off to see this show – can’t wait!

 

Aladdin Feb 2017

aladdin-uk-share

This show was booked by popular demand and boy was it popular.

Nearly 200 Friends travelling to the west end’s Prince Edward Theatre over 2 dates with over 80 travelling by coach!

Some quotes from parents,’Loved it!’ ‘Awesome evening. The show completely exceeded our expectations, seating and venue perfect.’ ‘ We had an amazing time!’

 

Jack and the beanstalk  2016- Panto time!!

640_264 header wps panto 2016

With the temporary closure of Fairfield Halls we came up with our very own local, professional and great value for money alternative.  It was a great success with all of the addition of PTFA stalls, games and refreshments too!

 

 

Gangsta Granny May 2016

Gangsta granny on stage

Our final trip to Fairfield Halls before its closure for refurbishment.  A fantastically hilarious on-stage adaptation of David Walliams famous Granny novel.

 

 

 

Annie starring Lesliey Joseph May 2016

Annie header

 

 

 

Horrible Histories:  Groovy Greeks and Incredible Invaders

640_264 header wps horrible histories 35 people booked to see these shows in the Feb half-term!

 

 

 

CHRISTMAS PANTO: Cinderella

Cinderella 2015 picture

Our Christmas Panto for 2015 was ‘Cinderella’ enjoyed by several hundred Woodcote family and friends

 

 

 

 

 

WEST END: Matilda The Musical

matilda

We had lots of parents requesting this show and have a huge group of 41 off to see Matilda on September the 24th 2015.

Matilda is the captivating musical masterpiece from the Royal Shakespeare Company that revels in the anarchy of childhood, the power of imagination and the inspiring story of a girl who dares to change her destiny.

Recommended age 6+.

 

The Cat in the Hat

Cat in the hat box

‘Triumphs as the maestro of mischief’ ★★★★ The Stage

‘A sharp, vibrant and deliciously daft story told beautifully and perfectly for children… brimming with energy and childish laughs’ ★★★★ Broadway Baby

This fun short show saw towering hats, mischief and gave us all an imagination recharge!  A great short show for 3 years plus, great for all the family!  The kids loved it and the adults did too!!

 

CHRISTMAS PANTOMIME: Snow White

Snow whiteIn December 2014 Woodcote Primary School families made their annual homage to Fairfield Halls for Panto Season.

 

 

 

Horrible Histories: Barmy Britain

At our brilliant local theatre, Fairfield Halls, this show was historical hilariousness.  It was gruesome, it was gory, it made my jaw ache from laughing so much.  A condensed history of Britain (with the nasty bits left in!).  Great seats reserved in Rows G and H!  As in Horrible Science we had our Boggle vision glasses for the special effects in the 2nd half and the kids loved it!

‘The best bit was Queen Victoria rapping and break dancing!’

 

 

WEST END: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

At the Royal Drury Lane Theatre this show was an adventure from begining to end.  Too many reviews to mention so we’ll condense to just a few words of wisdom from our Woodcote theatre goers.  ‘Wow!’, ‘Brilliant’, ‘Hilarious’, Wooooonnkkkkaaaaaa!’ – You get the picture.

 

 

 

CHRISTMAS PANTOMIME: Peter Pan

This show was a great success with a huge group of Woodcote Primary School families visiting Fairfield Halls on the 14th of December for the annual Panto trip.  Eastenders actor Steve McFadden was fab as Captain Hook.  The audience participation and songs were lively and the jokes were good (or bad depending how you look at it…urrghh).

 

 

 

Horrible Science

We booked two dates and took a Theatre Club record of 43 people to Horrible Science on Halloween and the 2nd of November.  The show really lived up to it’s name being truly gross and disgusting but I defy anyone not to have had a great time and come away with at least one fact they didn’t know before going!

Our Theatre Club reviews:

Harper (age 6) – ‘It was the best show I’ve ever been to!’

James (age 7) – ‘Horrible Science was fantastic, my favourite part of the show was the 3D glasses. I learnt a lot about Science!! Thank you’

Nicola (mum of two) – ‘The 3D backdrop was amazing.  It really got the crowd going and I defy anyone to not duck when a turd is flying your way – yuck!!!’

WEST END: The Lion King

We had 19 people trek up to the Lyceum Theatre for our first West End booking in September.  The wonderful Disney story of Simba and the animals of Pride Rock brought to life with amazing puppet-style costumes and a great score.

Jane (mum of two Theatre Clubbers) – ‘I have been wanting to take the kids for ages but have never been able to afford it.  It was so worth it!  Thank you Theatre Club!’

 

 

Joseph and the Amazing Tecnicolor Dreamcoat

This performance in April 2013 was enjoyed by 14 Theatre Clubbers!  The show was great value with highly reduced tickets and Joseph from the TV show.  This is what some of our audience thought:

Harps (age 6) – “AWESOME!”

William (age 8) – ‘Joseph, was a spectacular show, it was fun, it was fast and engaging. I would recommend this show to all of the family.  Even now, 2 weeks later, the catchy songs are playing over and over in my head!.’  

Mum – Stephanie – ‘We really enjoyed the show, and a fantastic price as well! I love to go to the theatre in London, but it was lovely to have a fantastic production very local to us.’

Katie and the Mona Lisa

Imagine if art could come alive! When Katie visits a gallery with her Grandma and sees the Mona Lisa, a mad-cap adventure follows as she steps into Mona Lisa’s world and discovers she has lost her smile. Can Katie restore the famous enigmatic expression, with the help of magical Renaissance paintings, before the gallery guard catches her?

This show in April 2013 was enjoyed by 14 Theatre Clubbers!  It was great fun with lots of audience participation and as an added bonus the author of the ‘Katie’ books, James Mayhew was available before and after the show to sign books.  Not only this but he and the whole cast  afterwards came out to sign books or anything else (including the jester items on sale -spinning plates and juggling balls etc) as their characters, Mona Lisa, St George, Katie, Granny etc – lots of fun!  Our Theatre Clubber Reviews:

Kobi (age 8) – ‘I wish it was longer!’

Harper (aged 5) – ‘I loved the jokes and that Mona Lisa didn’t understand how to do the knock knock joke.  It was very funny.’

Mum – Nick – ‘A really fun show, I loved the audience participation, really very clever and a lovely story.  We got my daughter and a friend a signed book each for their birthdays which are coming up and James Mayhew did a fantastic picture in each as well as writing Happy 6th Birthday and signing them.  Very special!’

 

'